Meet the team

The Minister

We are currently in the process of looking for a new Minister.

Minister in training (MIT)  Hazel Hunting

Hazel came to RBC in 2005 after being invited by friends. She was baptised and became a member in 2010, becoming more involved in some of the activities at RBC, including leading the youth work for several years. Hazel was challenged to consider whether God might be calling her into Baptist ministry. The calling was tested through the Baptist Union discernment process and in 2017 she began training at Spurgeons College, with a placement as Minister in Training (MiT) at RBC on a part time basis while working as a nurse in the NHS. Hazel loves spending time with her family, and particularly enjoys time outdoors.

Josh Goddard (Youth Worker)

Josh works with our youth and young adults for 3 days a week. He has been doing youth work for 8 years and joined us in September 2019, he also works as a chaplain 2 days a week in a local secondary school with Ipswich CYM.  Josh is passionate about youth work and continues his ministry into his spare time.  He also enjoys watching and playing football and considers himself a bit of a handyman. 


Allan Tucker (Church Treasurer)

Allan was born in Colchester and met his wife, Rad, when they were both working in the Willis office in Ipswich. They were married at Nansen Road BC and have a daughter (Vicki) and a son (Dominic). They attended Bethesda BC for 17 years before coming to Rushmere in 2010. Dominic was baptised by Heather in 2011 and Allan decided it was time to “take the plunge” and was also baptised by Heather shortly afterwards. Allan is a Chartered Accountant and proud of it!

The Deacons

At Rushmere Baptist Church we have Deacons to help in the leadership of the church. Each one plays a key role in the ministry of the church.

Click here to find out about the role of a deacon

Jean Cutting  (Church Secretary)

Jean blueJean makes the place tick and keeps the team in order with her organisational skills, newly elected to serve on the Diaconate she was brought up in a Christian home and attended Maidstone Road Baptist Church, Felixstowe, where she was baptised at the tender age of 16 by the Rev Donald Smith.  She has been a member at Rushmere Baptist Church for just over 20 years.  Jean has a banking background, but after raising three children, she moved into a career in nursing which led to a job with Social Services, managing a Day Centre for the Elderly for nine years, from which she took early retirement in 1999.  Her favourite pastime is gardening, but she also has a keen interest in music and she sings in the "Cantus Firmus Choir".

Vivienne Davis

Vivienne became a Christian through the ministry of Crusaders (now Urban Saints), leading a group in North London for many years. She was baptised by Rev Ian MacFarlane at Edmonton Baptist Church when she was 16 and worshipped there until she first came to RBC in 1996 when she moved to Ipswich to become Deputy Head of a local school.  Vivienne left RBC for a few years whilst she was Head of a Christian school in Berkshire, but returned in 2012.  Vivienne enjoys watching Saracens play rugby and is also a keen family historian managing to trace her ancestors back to the 1700s and as far afield as Korea, where they founded the Korean Salvation Army! (Her trip to Seoul in 2008 was slightly more comfortable than theirs in 1908).

Allister Compton

alis blueAllister was baptised in 1974 and first came to Rushmere Baptist Church in 1977 and received such a warm welcome he and his wife decided to make it home. They were our Youth Leaders for almost fifteen years and organised residential houseparties for our own youth group and for Baptist youth across the whole of Suffolk.  By day is an Emergency Planner and Technical adviser for Defra's Animal and Plant Health Agency and in his spare time he works on his own sheep and cattle farm.  Allister is our chief sound and IT technician as well as playing both Bass and Acoustic Guitar, helping to lead the worship on Sunday services. An interesting fact about Allister is that he was was once commissioned to photograph a Diana Ross Concert - she said he had a nice smile.

Adrian Cross

Adrian blueAdrian has been a part of our church at RBC for about 26 years, he was baptised by the Rev Norman Harris at Witnesham Baptist Church in 1982.  He has been self employed as a farmer for around 31 years, he loves driving anything that moves from tractors on the farm to cars and 4x4’s on the road, he also enjoys flying aeroplanes and helicopters.  One interesting fact about Adrian is that he once ate an Ostrich steak which had been cooked on a BBQ in Zimbabwe.

 Margaret Dearsley 

marg blueMargaret has been worshipping at RBC for 28 years, she works at a doctors surgery in Saxmundham and gets great pleasure from her job.  She was baptised at RBC many years ago by Vic Lanchester who is now with our Lord, her favourite pastime is watching her Grandsons playing football, this is a regular Saturday morning task for her!  The one thing not many people know about Marg is her addiction to penny sweets, so watch your sweets around her.

Richard Laycock

merna blueRichard grew up attending St John’s on Cauldwell Hall Road in Ipswich and was a member of Boys Brigade from the age of 6, first at St Johns then at Alan Road where he became an Officer helping to lead the Company. He was confirmed at St Johns aged 15. His attendance at Church dwindled somewhat in following years, although he continued to work with BB where he was influenced by many Christian role models. Richard married Susie at RBC in 1999 and began to attend more regularly as his faith grew, this led him to be baptised in 2010. In his time at RBC he has twice been involved in building committees, partly due to his work as a Civil Engineer, and is often to be found behind the drums helping to lead the sung worship.

David Barnard

merna blueDavid is married to Marianne, have 3 children, who together have been worshipping at RBC since 2011, having previously been at St.Andrews, Britannia Road, Ipswich for over 15 years.  David works for a charity working with communities and people to improve their local environment and find practical solutions to the challenges they face.
In his spare time, David enjoys spending time with his family, especially doing outdoor activities together as well as doing DIY (but definitely not plumbing)..


Michelle Tripp

Michelle joined the Diaconate in 2020. She is a busy mum of two lively boys. Married to Aaron, one of our Worship leaders, Michelle is the leader of Rushmere Ducklings our baby and toddler group. She also preaches from time to time.